Board of Directors

Mr. S K Roongta

Mr. S K RoongtaChairman

Mr. Sushil Kumar Roongta, has been on the Board of the Company since 31st January 2012 and as Chairman of the Company since 17th Oct 2014. He is also the Chairman of Talwandi Saboo Power Limited. He has done his BE (Electrical) from BITS Pilani and is a gold medalist in PGDBM (International Trade) from IIFT, New Delhi. He is also a fellow member of All India Management Association. He is also on the Board of Jubilant Industries limited, Jubilant Agri & Consumer Products Limited, SPML Infra Limited and ACC Limited. Mr Roongta holds important positions in various apex chambers.

Mr. Tarun Jain

Mr. Tarun Jain Director

Mr. Tarun Jain, has been on the Board of the Company since March 2, 2001. Mr. Jain has over 26 years of experience in the corporate finance, audit and accounting, tax and secretarial practice, strategic financial matters, including corporate finance, corporate strategy, business development and mergers and acquisitions. He is a fellow member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India and Institute of Company Secretaries of India, besides being a Graduate of the Institute of Cost and Works Accountants of India. He is also on the Board of Vedanta Limited, Cairn India Limited, Vedanta Medical Research Foundation and Rajtaru Charity Foundation as their Director. He is also on the Board of Sterlite Opportunities and Ventures Limited, Vedanta Aluminium Limited.

Mr. R. Kannan

Mr. R. KannanIndependent Director

Mr. R. Kannan, was appointed as Director of the Company on 21st July 2011. He is a Post Graduate in Mathematics from Madras University, PGDMS from Bombay University and Certified Associate of Indian Institute of Bankers with Industrial Finance. He has nearly 30 years’ experience in the areas of banking, merchant banking, mutual funds, stock broking and venture capital. He has been member of High Power Committees, appointed by the Government of India, for Stock Transfer Reforms, Bank Finance against stocks, entry norms for private sector mutual funds, Safety Net Mechanism for equity offerings, Bank finance for diamond trade, SEBI Deregulation for recognition of SROs in financial services. He is also on the Board of Orionsayi Consultant Private Limited, Lakecity Ventures Private Limited, Orient Press Limited, Ram Ratna Wires Limited, Real time Techsolutions Private Limited, Pan India Paryatan Pvt. Ltd, R R Kabel Limited, Vizag general Cargo birth Private Limited & Orchid Pharma Limited. He is also a member of the Audit Committee of the Board of Directors of the Company.

Ms. Reena Sinha Puri

Ms. Reena Sinha PuriGovernment Nominee Director

Ms. Reena Sinha Puri is an officer of the Indian Revenue Service. She has held various positions in the Income tax Department and has worked in Mumbai, Kolkata, Delhi, Nagpur and Muzaffarnagar.
She has also worked on secondment with the Department of Taxes, Government of Botswana. She completed her Bachelor and Masters in Political Science from Punjab University. She holds Bachelor law degree from Delhi University and Master’s Degree in public policy, NUS, Singapore.

Mr. Ram Karan

Mr. Ram KaranGovernment Nominee Director

Mr. Ram Karan is Economic Adviser in Ministry of Mines. He is M.A. in Economics and an officer of 1993 batch of Indian Economic Service. He served Govt. of India in various capacities such as Assistant Director, Central Water Commission, and Deputy Director in Department of Company Affairs & CACP and Deputy Secretary in Department of Agriculture & Cooperation.

He also served as Deputy Economic Adviser in Department of Economic Affairs, M/o Finance, Director in Department of Telecommunication and Planning Commission, (NITI Ayog). Before joining in Ministry of Mines as Economic Adviser he was Economic Adviser in the Ministry of Tourism.

Mr. Prithul kumar

Mr. Prithul kumarGovernment Nominee Director

Mr. Prithul Kumar is Civil Engineer from IIT-Kanpur (1993 – 97) and Officer of Indian Civil Services (ICS) ,2000 batch of Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS) working in Ministry of Mines on Central Deputation since 2013.

Mr. Kumar joined the Ministry of Mines as Deputy Secretary and later on promoted as Director in 2014.He has worked over the Northern Railway in various capacities. Mr. Kumar has been awarded with Excellence Awards twice, first in 2005 as Assistant level officer and second time in 2011 as in-charge of Freight Marketing.

Mr. Prithul Kumar has enriched experience of setting up the entire train operations in Kashmir Valley as the 1st Chief Area Manager, Srinagar.

He spearheaded the work of establishing systems for e-auction of mineral blocks in the country and handholding the State Governments for successfully conducting the e-auctions. He has spearheaded the development of a Mining Surveillance System (MSS) for curbing illegal mining using Satellite imagery. He is currently involved in the implementation of Mining Tenement System which automates the entire mining life-cycle using IT in the country and automating the various functions of IBM.

Mr. Vikas Sharma

Mr. Vikas SharmaCEO & Director

Mr. Vikas Sharma joined HZL in 2012 as Location head for Chanderiya Lead Zinc Smelter and was later elevated to the role of COO –Smelter, HZL. During his tenure in HZL he has contributed significantly towards enhancing the smelter performance as well building strategic stakeholder relationship.
In his illustrious career span of 28 Years, Mr Vikas Sharma served in several large corporates like HMT, Praxair, JSW and AMP. He has done his B.E. (Mechanical) Honours from Engineering College, Kota and MBA, Marketing from Sikkim Manipal University.

Mr. A R Narayanaswamy

Mr. A R NarayanaswamyIndependent Director

Mr. A R Narayanaswamy is a member of The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India and has an extensive industry experience. He is also on the Board of Hindustan Zinc Limited, Sterlite Technology Limited, IBIS Softec Solutions (P) Limited, IBIS Systems & Solutions (P) Limited, Sterlite Grid 1 Limited, Sesa Resources Ltd., Malco Energy Ltd., Sesa Mining Corporation Limited, Vizag General Cargo Berth Pvt. Ltd. & Sterlite Power Grid Ventures Ltd.

Mr. Gurminder Singh Kang

Mr. Gurminder Singh KangIndependent Director

Mr. G S Kang holds a master’s degree in history and English from the University of Punjab and was a member of the Indian Administrative Services (IAS). Between 1970 and 2006, Mr. Kang served the Government of Bihar in various capacities, and retired as chief secretary in September 2006. He is also on the Board of TSPL.